AAP releases first list of 10 candidates for Chhattisgarh, Madhya Pradesh assembly polls; check here

The Election Commission of India has not declared the poll schedule for Chhattisgarh or MP as yet.

The Aam Aadmi Party on Friday released its first list of 10 candidates for the Chhattisgarh and Madhya Pradesh Assembly polls that will be held at the end of the year.

In Chhattisgarh, among the 10 candidates are the Arvind Kejriwal-led party’s state unit chief Komal Hupendi and farmers’ leader Tejram Vidrohi.

“First list of AAP candidates for Chhattisgarh elections is out. All the best to all candidates. Is baar chalegi Jhadu (this time broom will sweep). #ChhattisgarhMangeKejriwal,” the party wrote on X, formerly Twitter, where the list was released.

Sharing the list for Madhya Pradesh, it said “Our first list of candidates for Madhya Pradesh Assembly Election 2023. Many congratulations to all our candidates, and best wishes for the campaign. #MPMaangeKejriwal.”

In the 2018 Assembly polls, AAP had fielded 85 candidates in Chhattisgarh but all them ended up losing their deposits. The polls to the 90-member House were swept by the Congress, which ousted the Bharatiya Janata Party after 15 years in power.

Hupendi, who lost from Bhanupratappur (ST) seat in 2018 has been fielded from there again. He had joined the AAP in 2016 after quitting his government job as cooperative extension officer, a party functionary said.

A native of Mungwal village in Bhanupratappur area, Hupendi has an MA degree from a Bilaspur college and was selected in 2008 as cooperative extension officer through Chhattisgarh Public Service Commission (CGPSC), he said.

Vidrohi has been fielded from Rajim seat and Anand Prakash Miri, who is heading the party’s poll manifesto committee, from Akaltara seat.

The other candidates whose names have been announced are Baloo Ram Bhawani (Dantewada-ST), Narendra Kumar Nag (Narayanpur-ST), Vishal Kelkar (Korba), Raja Ram Lakra (Pathalgaon-ST), Khadagraj Singh (Kawardha), Surendra Gupta (Bhatgaon) and Leos Minj (Kunkuri-ST).

Kelkar had contested 2018 assembly polls from Korba seat as an independent candidate and polled 4,859 votes, he said.

In the 2018 polls, the Congress won 68 seats, while the BJP was victorious on 15 seats.

Last month, the BJP released its first list of candidates for 21 seats for the Chhattisgarh polls. The ruling Congress is yet to announce its list of candidates.

The Election Commission of India has not declared the poll schedule for Chhattisgarh or MP as yet.


Read original article here

Denial of responsibility! Yours Headline is an automatic aggregator of the all world’s media. In each content, the hyperlink to the primary source is specified. All trademarks belong to their rightful owners, all materials to their authors. If you are the owner of the content and do not want us to publish your materials, please contact us by email – [email protected]. The content will be deleted within 24 hours.

Leave a Comment