Latest count has 75 ALP MPs in lower house


Labor appears on track to govern in its own right, as vote counting continues following the federal election.

At 10am on Monday, official figures from the Australian Electoral Commission had Labor on 75 seats in the House of Representatives – one short of a majority.

The Liberal-National coalition was holding 58 seats.

Watch the Federal Election 2022 on Channel 7 or stream it for free on 7plus >>

Ten independents were on track for victory, joined on the cross bench by Mayo MP Rebekha Sharkie from the Centre Alliance and veteran Kennedy MP Bob Katter.

The AEC listed six seats where the two-candidate preferred vote was unavailable: Griffith, Macnamara, Maranoa, Melbourne, Richmond and Sydney.

Three seats were formally listed as “close”: Sturt, Gilmore and Menzies.

Labor picked up 52.4 per cent of the two-party preferred vote.

Incumbent MPs were trailing in 20 seats: Swan, Pearce, Tangney, Hasluck, Curtin (WA), Chisholm, Higgins, Kooyong, Goldstein, Deakin (Victoria), Wentworth, Gilmore, Reid, North Sydney, Robertson, Mackellar, Fowler and Bennelong (NSW), Boothby and Grey (SA).

The Senate results are yet to be finalised, but the most likely biggest losses will be veteran Queensland senator and One Nation leader Pauline Hanson and Liberal minister Zed Seselja in the ACT.


Read original article here

Denial of responsibility! Yours Headline is an automatic aggregator of the all world’s media. In each content, the hyperlink to the primary source is specified. All trademarks belong to their rightful owners, all materials to their authors. If you are the owner of the content and do not want us to publish your materials, please contact us by email – [email protected]. The content will be deleted within 24 hours.

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.